The Nominating Committee is pleased to submit the following qualified members as a nominee to serve a five-year term on the Envision Credit Union Board of Directors:  Cassandra Grayson and Dr. James Croteau.

 Ms. Cassandra Grayson

cassandra grayson headshot


Cassandra Grayson has been a member of Envision Credit Union since 2006.Ms. Grayson is an Education Technology Consultant/Contractor with the Florida Department of Education.  Previously, she served as the Association Services Chief of Staff for the League of Southeastern Credit Unions and the Senior Vice President of Administration for the Florida Credit Union League.  Ms. Grayson is a candidate for a Doctor of Education degree, has a Masters of Education degree in Adult Education Administration and a B.S. in Business Administration.


Dr. James (Jim) Croteau

dr. james croteau headshot

James M. (Jim) Croteau has studied, lived, worked and volunteered in Tallahassee for over 45 years. He retired after 35 years with the Leon County (Florida) Schools in positions that included elem

entary teacher, staff development director, policy and planning director, assistant superintendent for business services, deputy superintendent and interim superintendent. He then served five years as President/CEO of Elder Care Services, a local non-profit that is the lead agency for aging services in Leon County, and also the provider of Senior Corps services (RSVP, Foster Grandparent, Senior Companions) for a 14 county region in Northwest Florida. Additionally, Mr. Croteau briefly served as Interim State Ombudsman for Long Term Care in the Florida Department of Elder Affairs.

Mr. Croteau earned a Ph.D. from Florida State University, M.A. from Queens College CUNY, and a B.A. from Marist College. He has been an adjunct professor for several colleges and universities in Florida and has served as an officer or on the board of many community and church organizations. Currently he is the volunteer president of the 21st Century Council, a non-profit addressing quality of life issues in the community and also a volunteer member of the Board of Directors of Envision Credit Union. He has been appointed a commissioner for The Florida Commission on Community Service, known as Volunteer Florida, currently serving as Treasurer, and is on the board of Volunteer Florida Foundation, Inc. Mr. Croteau is married to Theresa Clingenpeel Croteau, also a retired educator. They have five grown children and enjoy living and staying active in Tallahassee.

Article X

In accordance with Article X, Section 1 of the Credit Union’s bylaws, the Nominating Committee has submitted one name per position and as such there will be no balloting, unless nominees are proposed through the petition process described herein. Otherwise, at the Annual Meeting, the Chair of the Board shall declare the nominee as duly elected.

Other members of the Credit Union who are willing to serve may be nominated by means of a petition, providing the petition is submitted in accordance with the policy approved by the Board of Directors.

The forms and petition procedure may be obtained from the Secretary of the Credit Union upon request. The petition must be submitted on a form approved by the Board of Directors and the petition must have signatures of at least one percent (1%) of the membership or 500 signatures, whichever is the lesser number, that can be certified by the Secretary of the Credit Union as being members of the Credit Union who are eligible to vote in the election.

A certificate and oath, signed by the nominee, must be submitted to the Secretary of the Credit Union with the petition. The certificate and oath will state that the nominee is agreeable to nomination, is statutorily qualified, is in good standing with the Credit Union, and will serve if elected.

The Secretary of the Credit Union must receive the petition and nominee’s certification bearing original signatures by March 12, 2017. Following certification by the Secretary, qualified nominees shall then be submitted by mail ballot to the membership eligible to vote. The outcome of all balloting will be determined by plurality and the results announced at the Annual Meeting, April 27, 2017.